We are who we are.

img_3221

Hannah DiFolco ( A.K.A HFD,me) Age. 22


img_3222

img_3223

This is me! Hannah France DiFolco.

This past weekend I had the opportunity to go to the Step Bone Cut (SBC) Experience Space. Let me tell you, it truly was an experience. One of my wonderful teachers from the Step Bone Cut Academy, Koutaro sat me in front of a mirror and allowed me to watch myself transform. The experience was incredible, watching the way the scissor would glide against my hair, while feeling the hair physically be cut off. The rhythm was mesmerizing. The more he cut, the bigger my smile became.

It was me! I was finding myself in a light I hadn’t seen before.

I think that many of us, like myself, can get caught up in the rhythm of every day life. But it’s those moments in life when we break away from the routine rhythm of our every day and maybe skip to a new beat. We do something spontaneous, like get a random piercing or tattoo. Some of us may pack up our bags and hit the road for the weekend, or some may just treat themselves to a nice dinner. Maybe, you get a haircut.

Doing something different from my ordinary day makes me feel most alive. To me, life is remembering to not make excuses as to why we “can’t”, why we “would never”, or “couldn’t”. It’s about taking each breathe and moving forward, turning and twisting in different directions. It’s about truly living YOUR life, not the life anyone wants or expects you to live.

A year ago if you were to ask me if I would being driving out to New York on the weekends just for fun, I would’ve told you “I will never drive in that city. I would be way to scared and I just couldn’t do that”

There are those words again; Never, couldn’t.

Why the hell couldn’t I?!

Now about once a month I am driving out to the city I love. New York has given me inspiration. It’s given me people who have changed my life and who have made me want to grow. All because I had the guts to go to New York, I am now the first in the United States certified in the Swing Cut. I am continuing my education at the SBC Academy, where I will eventually become a Master Step Bone Cut Stylist and Educator. All because I had the guts to take a chance and live my greatest life, I am literally living my greatest life every day.

There are moments in my life where people have told me I can’t do something, or that my ideas would never work. It’s those moments that made me step away from those people and take a good, long look at myself and ask. “What do I believe?”

I believe in myself. I believe that the choices I make, the words I speak, and the actions I take are what define me. I have the power to create my own unique life, filled with my own decisions and my own beliefs. Why in the world would any of us try to live life for another person? Stop trying so hard to please everyone around you and start pleasing yourself! Do something bold. Try a new kind of food, confront a situation you may have been avoiding, tell someone how much you love them.

You live one life, don’t waste it with ” I can’t.” or ” I never.”

Fill it with ” I will.” and ” I can.”

The universe will thank you for the gratitude you begin to have for the life you are creating.

“You are perfect. To think anything less is as pointless as a river thinking that it’s got too many curves or that it moves too slowly or that its rapids are too rapid. Says who? You’re on a journey with no defined beginning, middle or end. There are no wrong twists and turns. There is just being. And your job is to be as you as you can be. This is why you’re here. To shy away from who you truly are would leave the world you-less. You are the only you there is and ever will be. I repeat, you are the only you there is and ever will be. Do not deny the world its one and only chance to bask in your brilliance.”

Jen Sincero, You Are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life

I am continuing to find my voice and I’m thankful for the constant inspiration around me. I hope you can find a bit of your own through my story.

Thank you for reading HFD,me!

1 thought on “We are who we are.”

Leave a Reply

